CSLI title

Home  |   Articles  |   Search  |  About  |  Other Works   |

Photos | Videos | What's New

Patrick Suppes

Patrick Suppes is the Lucie Stern Professor of Philosophy Emeritus at Stanford University and is Director and Faculty Advisor for Stanford's Education Program for Gifted Youth (1992). He was director of Stanford's Institute for Mathematical Studies in the Social Sciences (1959-1992). He is also professor emeritus by courtesy in Stanford's Department of Statistics, Department of Psychology, and School of Education.

He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (1962), the American Psychological Association (1964) and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1968), a member of the National Academy of Education (1965), National Academy of Sciences (1978), and a member of the American Philosophical Society (1991).

Among his awards are the American Psychological Association's Distinguished Scientific Contribution Award, Columbia University Teachers College Medal for Distinguished Service (1978) and the National Medal of Science (1990).

He is a past President of the Pacific Division, American Philosophical Association (1972-73), the American Educational Research Association (1973-74), National Academy of Education (1973-77), and International Union of History and Philosophy of Science (1976, 1978).

Suppes received his bachelor's degree from the University of Chicago and his doctor's degree from Columbia University. He has published widely in philosophy and the social sciences, especially in psychology and education.

View the Guide to using this website.


pat professional





This on-line collection of Professor Patrick Suppes' writing is a joint publication of Stanford University Libraries (SUL) and CSLI Publications. The project was largely funded by the SUL Medieval and Modern Text Digitization Project (MMTDP).

Administrative credits for this web site go to Claudia Arrighi, John Rawlings, Stefanie Silva, and Sarah Terman.

Technical credits go to Carolyn Fairman, Ever Rodriguez, Peter Robinett, Brian Salomaki, Stefanie Silva, and Sarah Terman.

© CSLI 2002-2008